:: Recorder of Deeds
Official Name: Lucille Mundey, Bates County Recorder of Deeds
Bates County Courthouse
1 North Delaware
Butler, MO 64730
Employees: Jennifer Bolling- Deputy
Remote Access Site: http://mo830.cichosting.com/rap/search.aspx
Basic information indexed from 1988 is available to the public. Marriage records and military discharge records are not available on the remote access site (Must subscribe to services in order to view instruments and to be able to make copies. Contact recorder's office for details).
E-Search site: https://esearch.cichosting.com
Same information that is on the Remote Access Site but researchers have the ability to charge to their credit cards to research for one month at the cost of $100 plus service charge fee or for one day (24 hours) at a cost of $25 plus service charge fee. There are no additional charges for copies-cost of copes included in the fee.
A note to genealogical researchers: the Butler Public Library has a copy of the land records from 1840 through 1902 and marriage records from 1860 through 1940 are available on microfilm.)
|Duties of the Recorder of Deeds:|
●The Recorder of Deeds Office is a place where all transactions having to do with land are recorded and kept in a permanent file. This is where land records are kept. Bates County land records start in 1840.
FIRST PAGE DESIGNATIONS
*Every document (except plats and surveys) containing any of the following items shall have such information on the first page of the document below the 3" margin:
1. Title of the document
2. Date of the document
3. All grantors' names
4. All grantees' names
5. Any statutory addresses
6. Legal Description --may be referenced to page legal located
7. Reference book and pages if required
*A cover page for the document is not required, but a filer may choose to present a cover page and it will recorded as the first page of the document. The cover page must have the top 3" margin and include first page designations.
*If a document is presented for re-recording, in addition to all other requirements, there must be a new first page or cover sheet with the top 3" and the required first page designations.
EXEMPT DOCUMENTS FROM THE FORMATTING REQUIREMENTS
*Documents signed prior to January 1, 2002
*Military separation papers
*Documents executed outside the United States
*Certified copies of documents, including birth and death certificates
*Any document where one of the original parties is deceased or incapacitated
*Judgments or other documents formatted to meet court requirements
*Fixtures Filings on the National Approved UCC Forms.
|*Standard||Document that meet both the statutory requirements and formatting standards will have only the per page recording fee schedule applied.|
|*Non-Standard||Documents that meet the statutory requirements, but do not meet the formatting standards will have the per page recording fee plus an additional $25.00 per document penalty applied.|
|*Exempt||Documents that meet the statutory requirements, but are exempt from the formatting standards will have only the per page recording fee schedule applied.|
All documents that are rejected must be returned with a reason for rejection. The Recorders Association will develop a standard rejection form (to view form click: imagesRecorder's Rejection Form.tif) that can be used or adapted by any filing officer.
APPLICATION FOR MARRIAGE LICENSE
PLEASE NOTE: Effective August 28, 2007, Missouri no longer requires the three day waiting period. After receipt of the application, the Recorder may issue the license. Once the license is issued, it is good for thirty (30) days and can be used anywhere in the State of Missouri.
REQUIREMENTS IF BOTH BRIDE AND GROOM ARE OVER THE AGE OF 18
1. Both bride and groom must apply in person at the Recorder's Office.
2. Both must show picture ID.
3. If either party has been married before, must know the date of death of spouse or date of dissolution of the marriage.
4. Payment of $48 (non-refundable) must be made at time of application. Payment includes $2.00 cost of mailing the completed certificate to the newlyweds.
REQUIREMENTS IF BRIDE AND/OR GROOM ARE UNDER AGE OF 18 AND OVER THE AGE OF 15
1. Both bride and groom must apply in person at the Recorder's office.
2. Custodial parent of minor must be present at the same time to sign consent.
3. Bride and groom must have birth certificate to show date of birth and name of parents.
4. Custodial parent must have picture identification.
5. If either party has been married before, must know the date of death of spouse or date of dissolution of the marriage.
6. Payment of $48 (non-refundable) must be made at time of application. Payment includes $2.00 cost of mailing the completed certificate to the newlywed
|Fee Schedule for Non-Charter Counties
EFFECTIVE SEPTEMBER 1, 2003
|Standard Document Fee|
|~ First Page||$24.00|
|~ Each Additional Page||$3.00|
|~ Non Standard Document Fee||$25.00|
|~ First Page (18"x24")||$44.00|
|~ Each Additional Page||$35.00|
|~ First Page (24"x36")||$69.00|
|~ Each Additional Page||$50|
|~ First Page (18"x24")||$24.00|
|~ Each Additional Page||$5.00|
|~ First Page (24"x36")||$29.00|
|~ Each Additional Page||$5.00|
|COPIES: Per page||$1.00|
|Certified Copies: Per page, plus $1 for Certificate||$1.00|
|MARRIAGE LICENSE:||$48.00-includes certified copy|
|CERTIFIED COPY OF MARRIAGE LICENSE:||$9.00|
|NOTICE OF TAX LIENS:|
|~ Federal Tax Liens||$9.00|
|~ Federal Tax Discharges||$7.50|
|~ StateTax Liens||$3.00|
|~ StateTax Discharges||$1.50|